Stumble

Please excuse my lengthy absence. With school consuming most of my time, it seems that whatever time is left is spent “stumbling” (pun always intended). Conveniently, “stumbling” is the topic of this new blog and many of my future posts will probably be attributed to StumbleUpon. Although, after introducing you to this gem, I may lose all of your attention.

StumbleUpon is a Firefox add-on (as if Firefox could get any more amazing). In short, as the actual Firefox/Stumble Upon website puts it, “StumbleUpon discovers web sites based on your interests, learns what you like and brings you more.” By the way, if you avid Internet Explorers haven’t found the gumption to download and/or use Firefox now, I hope that what follows will persuade you to.

Now, I don’t know the technicalities of StumbleUpon, but what I do know, I can share.

+ When you register for an account with StumbleUpon, you are asked about your areas of interest (which will later help specialize the content that you “stumble” upon).

+ Not only can you register for an account, but also, edit your profile, upload a picture and befriend fellow Stumblers.

+ After you’ve downloaded StumbleUpon you should notice a new icon on your Firefox toolbar that says Stumble!

+ Whenever you click on Stumble!, you will be directed to a random website that fits into any of the categories that you chose earlier, while registering.

+ Next to the Stumble! icon on your toolbar, are a few other Stumble icons. By clicking on any of those, you are able to tell StumbleUpon if you give the website a “thumbs up” or “thumbs down,” send the website to a friend, read comments of other Stumblers or even submit your own.

So far, I’ve used StumbleUpon every day since the day I downloaded it. To say that I CAN get enough would be silly. I have found so many interesting, and inspiring websites. Maybe in a future post, I’ll link you all to some of my favorite websites that I’ve come across thanks to StumbleUpon. For now, you are going to have to take my word.

To download Firefox visit here.

To add-on StumbleUpon visit here.

One thought on “Stumble

Leave a Reply

