Thao w/ The Get Down Stay Down

Thao with The Get Down Stay Down is a California-based band consisting of Thao Nguyen (guitar, vocals), Willis Thompson (drums, percussion) and Adam “The OK BIRD” Thompson(bass). On their MySpace, the band describes themselves as sounding like: “tangles of guitar, knots of singing, threads of beat and thump make a rope fit for hauling the heavy machinery of your day.”

A relentless Creative Writing teacher squashed my dream of seeing the band live last year when they toured with Xiu Xiu (+). For a while I stopped listening to the band but never forgot about them. I BOUGHT their first album, We Brave Bee Stings and All, off of Itunes about a week ago and have been enjoying it to the fullest every since (my Last.fm stats are proof).

My favorites off of the album are at the top and bottom.
The intro song, “Beat (Health, Life and Fire),” is vibrant. In an interview with DayTrotter, Thao explains:

The song is about getting out before they do. “They” are important people in your life. There’s also a couple lines about my parents. Walking away and blaming your parents are both things that are pretty bad for adult interaction, I have come to find. I am new years resolving all over myself.

The album ends with a cover of the track written by Smokey Robinson and originally performed by The Miracles, “You’ve Really Got a Hold On Me.” The song, no doubt, has been covered by many notable artists- The Beatles, Eddie Money, Cher and Greg Allman, She & Him (Zooey Deschanel and M.Ward). Still, I’ve found this cover to really have a hold on me (pun intended).

You can listen to and download one of the band’s new, unreleased songs “The New One” on DayTrotter’s website HERE.

One of my favorite low-budget music videos by any band (we can thank Lomography’s Oktomat Camera and the video’s director, Norman Foreman, for that):

LAST.FM

MYSPACE

WEBSITE

IMEEM

Leave a Reply

