Time for me to share some music I’ve been listening to lately.

1.  Perfume Genius

Truth be told, I haven’t listened to more than five songs by Mike Hadreas (Perfume Genius), but I know, based solely on how brilliant “Mr. Peterson” is, that I completely support everything this guy is doing.

Watch a live performance of “MR. PETERSON.”

In an interview with HUH. Magazine, Hadreas explains, “It is about a teacher I had in freshman year. I hadn’t thought about what went down for a while, I hadn’t thought about a fucking actual thing in a while. But I got flooded, that song came out.” How fitting is Hadreas’ shaky voice in this song? If you answered VERY fitting, then we’re on the same page.

Isn’t it funny that the most beautiful songs usually tell the most heart-breaking stories?


2.  Howlin’ Wolf isn’t anything new, but his music never gets old. After watching It Might Get Loud, I wanted to do several things, namely marry Jack White, get stuck on a deserted island with Jimmy Page and his guitar, learn how to play the electric guitar and listen to blues music 24*7. I’ve been satisfying my blues craving with some old school (Howlin’ Wolf) and some new school (The Black Keys).

See, the influential musician died in 1976, but believe me when I say that his music is  alive and well. I mean, in 2004 (that’s 28 years after his death) Rolling Stone ranked him #51 on their 100 Greatest Artists of All Time.

I’m going to take a quick detour to discuss something I mentioned a few sentences up, The Black Keys. Follow me down suspicious street as I question the existence of Dan Auerbach. IS THIS GUY REAL? ‘Cause he is REALLY on point with feelings that I’ve had, which is perplexing because the rule is: guys are never as cryptic, complex or emotional as ladies…Or are they? Auerbach has me questioning humanity — IS THIS REAL LIFE? If so, it’s very true that we’re all connected. We’re all riding the same wavelengths at some point in time. But really, it’s as if The Black Keys have set up studio in my heart.

Any way, watch THIS. Just do it.


3. Mac Miller

I’m in a love/hate relationship with Mr. Miller. Love to hate him, hate to love him. Either way, I can’t stop listening to his music, mostly “The Spins” and “Kool-Aid & Frozen Pizza.” Real talk: I’ll take a (fresh) high school grad rapping about being a kid over…let’s say…Eminem. Hate to steal some of Miller’s promo time but some things need to be said.

Question: IS ANYONE ACTUALLY LISTENING TO THE LYRICS TO EMINEM’S NEW SONG?

He says, “I laid hands on her, I’ll never stoop so low again.” (OK, we get it — mistakes happen.) Then he says, “You don’t get another chance, life is no Nintendo game.” (OK Em, we’re following you. Life? NOT a game.) But then he says: “I know I’m a liar. If she ever tries to fucking leave again, Imma tie her to the bed and set the house on fire.

Em is legit talking about killing his lady if she tries to leave again, guys. That’s not cool! Apparently it’s cool enough for the radio to play it continually, but really it’s not that cool.

So Rihanna’s singing the chorus on this twisted song that people love listening to (heard a kid at university blasting it on his Ipod and that’s all the proof I need)…and the chorus is just as disturbing as the verses. Get this, Rihanna is OK with everything that is happening because she likes the way it hurts and the way he lies.

Did she say this to Chris Brown as he beat her black and blue? I’ll let this be a rhetorical question. Is this why they say love hurts? Another rhetorical question.

The worst part is: I’ve caught myself humming and singing the song. Freudian slip? …Well that’s all right because I like the way it hurts!!!

But any way, what I’m really trying to say is that Mac Miller is all over my Last.fm charts and I’m not prepared to do anything to change that.


A couple other musicians you should check out: Paleo and Yellow Ostrich.

Happy listening!

*All images taken from Last.fm.
Leave a Reply

