Current obsessions part trois

Current obsessions (in no particular order):

1. THOUGHT CATALOG

Inspiring, comical and sort of therapeutic (practically everything written on the site is something I’ve thought, which makes the title quite fitting). I’m constantly linking my friends to their articles that are  “too relevant.” This is definitely one of my daily reads.

2. HEADSCARVES

I live in these. You will rarely see me without a headscarf because they’re perfect for taming my (sometimes unruly) locks and they can add pizzazz to an outfit. I prefer silk scarves because they don’t pull out the hair. Some tying techniques:

3. GARDENS & VILLA

I saw them live last month and it was pretty amazing. They didn’t have much of an audience, but my friends and I danced in the front row and had a brilliant time. They covered a Little Dragon song and played “Black Hills” and “Orange Blossom,” which have been getting a lot of hits through music blogs. (You can download both songs for free on bandcamp.) I can’t wait for them to come back to Phoenix in a couple of months with The Generationals. They’re set to release a full-length album on July 5, 2011.

4. YVES MEATLESS GROUND ROUNDS

Food has never been featured on my current obsessions list, but I am  loving this meat substitute. I’ve been hooked since I did my vegan challenge. It tastes delicious and can be incorporated into so many meals.

5. VITAMIN E OIL

It does wonders for the hair and skin. Some people may have an allergic reaction to this oil so test an area of your skin before using it all over your body. Add it to your bath water or mix it into your favorite lotion for super soft skin. Note: It can be sticky.

6. DOCUMENTARIES

In order of enjoyment

Thanks to Netflix, which happens to have a slew of documentaries on instant watch, I’ve been hooked on documentary films. In my opinion, they can be just as thought provoking, emotional, complex, entertaining, simple and beautiful as other movies. Recent documentary watches: God Grew Tired of Us, The Photographers, Planet B-Boy and Scott Walker: 30 Century Man.

7. POINT AND SHOOT FILM CAMERAS

Specifically my Fujica Auto 7. See some more pictures taken with it on my Flickr.

Leave a Reply

