BUCKLE SANDALS

I already covered men’s sandals, but now I want to focus on the ladies. There are so many styles of sandals to choose from (I tend to favor straps and braids), but this year I want buckle sandals. My style muse Alexa Chung is all about buckles, as you’ll soon see.

Click more to see Chung’s sandal choices and affordable buckle sandals that I can dig.


I’m not typically a fan of patent leather, but I like KG’s “Lemur” sandals. This particular style is no longer available on Kurt Geiger’s website and it seems to be sold out at every other online shop. KG’s spring-summer 2011 collection is worth looking at though. A lot of gorgeous pieces. Sorry US ladies, the site only sells/delivers to the UK (including Northern Ireland) and Ireland.

I’ve seen a lot of fashion bloggers sport salt-water sandals. In some ways they remind me of old lady sandals, but I still like them. They come in a variety of colors, styles and sizes (children and adult). And most importantly, they look comfortable, right?

These are my absolute favorite and of course, absolutely out of my price range. Perfect two-tone buckle sandals by 3.1 Phillip Lim. They retail for $375. Purchase the color combination Chung is wearing at Saks Fifth Avenue or pick up the army/dove version at ShopBop.


Keeping Chung’s styles in mind, let’s move on to some similar options:


1. Bass “Joanne” Sandals: $39 via Urban Outfitters, $24.60 via ShopNBC

2. KG Marley Toe Post Flat Sandals: $101.56 via ASOS

3. FLUTTER Leather Two Part Flat Sandal: $36.93 via ASOS

4. HOT strappy sandals via Topshop: $45 in BLUE, WHITE, RED, JADE

5. FOX BLUE CLEAN BUCKLE SANDALS: $85 via Topshop

6. MARC by Marc Jacobs Two-Tone Patent Sandal: $275 via Net-A-Porter

7. CHIE MIHARA Three-Tone Ankle-Strap: $345 via Neiman Marcus


If you don’t mind secondhand shoes and/or love vintage finds, here are some Etsy options under $40:

1 | 2 | 3 | 4

Leave a Reply

