We Think Alone

Miranda July, We Think Alone, art, Magasin 3, On The Tip of My Tongue, email newsletters, mailing lists,writer, emails, Kareem Abdul-Jabbar, Lena Dunham, Kirsten Dunst, Sheila Heti, Etgar Keret, Kate and Laura Mulleavy, Catherine Opie, Lee Smolin,  Danh Vo

I have a bad habit of signing up for mailing lists. My inbox is filled with hundreds of emails every day, most of which I hardly bat a lash at before dumping in the trash.

Today I received an unexpected email from one of my favorite creatives Miranda July.  I say unexpected because I signed up for her mailing list ages ago and this may be the first  email I’ve received since subscribing.

July has a new project called We Think Alone, which was comissioned by Magasin 3 for a show called “On The Tip of My Tongue.” In short, We Think Alone: “20 e-mails over 20 weeks from the sent mail folders of Kareem Abdul-Jabbar, Lena Dunham, Kirsten Dunst, Sheila Heti, Etgar Keret, Kate and Laura Mulleavy, Catherine Opie, Lee Smolin and Danh Vo.” Intriguing, right? The first emails, on the subject of money, will be sent out on July 1. Others will be mailed out every Monday through Nov. 11.

I have a good feeling that these will be worth forwarding and filing in special folders for later reading. I signed up and you can too, here.

I’ll leave you with a quote by July, “Things usually make sense in time, and even bad decisions have their own kind of correctness.”

Leave a Reply

